Our Anglican Foundation

The Anglican Church of Australia has grown out of the Church of England. As such, it has a long tradition of working within the heart of western culture in the broadest and most comprehensive sense.

Bishop Druitt College is first and foremost a Christian school in the Anglican tradition. The college lives out its faith in a creating and redeeming God in its day-to-day life and embraces the Gospel message of forgiveness, reconciliation, mission and loving service to God and our neighbour. 

In its long history the Anglican tradition has come to value tolerance as a positive good and a distinguishing feature of a civilised community. Within college worship Bishop Druitt College reflects the Anglican tradition through the richness of symbol, story, ceremony and sacrament. 

Our Link with the Grafton Diocese

Bishop Druitt College takes its name from the Right Reverend Doctor Cecil Henry Druitt, MA, DD who from 1914-1921 served as the first Bishop of the Diocese of Grafton. Bishop Druitt College was founded in the early 1990’s through an initiative of Ken Langford Smith, Headmaster of the Armidale School, and The Reverend Stephen Pullin, the then Rector of St John’s Anglican Church in Coffs Harbour, and others.

Land was purchased in 1993, the building program commenced later that year and Bishop Druitt College was established as an independent school in the Anglican tradition, opening its doors to primary students in 1994. The secondary school commenced in 1995.

Our School Crest and Motto

The college crest portrays in stylised form a bishop's mitre that represents both the authority of the Anglican Diocese of Grafton and the office of the Reverend Doctor Cecil Henry Druitt, after whom the college is named. The waves evoke the waters of the Northern Rivers area in which the diocese is located and recall the same feature on the crest of the Diocese of Grafton.

The school motto Faithfulness in service is taken from a theme that Reverend Doctor Druitt addressed in a school sermon.

Our links with other Diocesan Schools

Bishop Druitt College is one of five coeducational K-12 Anglican schools in the Diocese of Grafton. The other four schools are:

  • St Columba Anglican School Port Macquarie (SCAS)
  • Clarence Valley Anglican School Grafton (CVAS)
  • Emmanuel College Ballina
  • Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar School Tweed Heads (LAGS)

The five schools have cultivated beneficial cooperative links in areas such as:

  • Inter-school sport
  • Online learning courses
  • Professional development
  • Resource sharing
  • Cultural exchanges of bands, orchestras and choirs

The principals, business managers and chaplains of the five schools meet throughout the year to exchange ideas and forge closer relationships.





Tweet This