Bishop Druitt College Opens Wellbeing HUB

Students’ wellbeing is one of the key factors influencing their education outcomes.

Federal Member for Cowper Pat Conaghan opened the Maam Darruyaygamba – Wellbeing Hub at Bishop Druitt College (BDC) today, a facility helping hundreds of students from Kindergarten to Year 12 and built with assistance from a $10,000 Australian Government grant.

“More and more schools are realising the benefits of incorporating wellbeing centres and principles at school,” Mr Conaghan said. “If a child is nurtured and well, they are more engaged while at school and are better able to learn."

“Our Government has invested $10,000 here, plus a total of $40,066 in other wellness initiatives at another three schools across the electorate of Cowper through the Local Schools Community Fund. We promised to provide better opportunities for students and these wellbeing initiatives are one way we are helping schools to do that."

The BDC Wellbeing Hub is a centre where students can mix with key staff supporting their wellbeing. School chaplains, a clinical family therapist and a school psychologist work with the Director of Student Wellbeing to provide a wide variety of counselling and support services as well as group programs for students.

BDC Principal Nick Johnstone said the Wellbeing Hub would help both students and the Coffs Harbour community as well.
“Student wellbeing is our first priority at BDC and research shows students with high levels of wellbeing tend to have better academic and life outcomes, in school and beyond,” he said.

“The Wellbeing Hub will also provide a place for our indigenous Goori groups to meet as well as other groups. I thank the Commonwealth Government for its investment in these types of front line programs.” Bryant McKinnon Lawyers and McGrath Real Estate sponsored the BDC Wellbeing Hub.

From left: Shane Oxley Business Manager Bishop Druitt College, Gurmesh Singh, Nick Johnstone Principal Bishop Druitt College, Pat Conaghan MP, David Ford Chair of Council Bishop Druitt College, Mayor Denise Knight, Sue O'Connor Director of Student Wellbeing Bishop Druitt College, Rev Naomi Cooke Chaplain Bishop Druitt College, Saskia Klop Counsellor Bishop Druitt College, Jane Mosco Counsellor Bishop Druitt College, Karin Lisle Assistant Principal Bishop Druitt College.