Student athletes awarded and ongoing health partnership announced at BDC Sports Awards Dinner

Thursday, 03 Nov 2022

2022 has been an outstanding year in representative sport for BDC. On Wednesday 26 October Bishop Druitt College staff, students, and families gathered to celebrate high achievement in sport at the 2nd annual BDC Sport Awards Dinner held at Pacific Bay Resort. 

The dinner was a fantastic opportunity to recognise and celebrate a number of outstanding student-athletes at BDC. 

Nat Titcume, a three-time Olympic Medallist (2000, 2004, and 2008) and BDC’s High Performance Program Manager with Rob Hoy of Hoys Allied Health were pleased to announce an ongoing partnership with Hoys Allied Health for the college's High Performance Program and Sporting Academies. 

The relationship sees some 350 developing athletes able to access Hoys' sports professionals for injury diagnosis, rehabilitation and treatment, and expert advice. Hoys has been a partner of the High Performance Program since its inception in 2019 and now will support students in each of the five sporting academies - for basketball, football, golf, netball, and rugby. 

"The college is thrilled to see Hoys continue this relationship with our developing athletes, as we continue to grow the capabilities of athletes, right here in Coffs Harbour," said Mr Johnstone. "This relationship ensures that our students have access to not only the most dedicated training for their chosen sporting field but the allied health professionals who will support them in their physical development." 

Hoys Health physiotherapist and director said of the partnership: "Hoys has been a long-standing partner with the Bishop Druitt College High Performance Program since it first began, and we're excited to continue to partner with the programs to develop our local athletes through their schooling years and beyond." 

Photo left to right: Rob Hoy, Daniel Williams, Nat Titcume. 

Bishop Druitt College would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the student-athlete winners from the evening.


  • Zoe Welch - Junior Primary Sport Encouragement Award (Year 2) - Female
  • Archer Jordan - Junior Primary Sport Encouragement Award (Year 2) - Male
  • Zara Harris - Primary School Sports Person of the Year (Years 5 & 6) - Female
  • Dylan Hannaford - Primary School Sports Person of the Year (Years 5 & 6) - Male 
  • Bayley Johnson - Middle School Sports Person of the Year (Year 7 - 9) - Female
  • Daniel Williams - Middle School Sports Person of the Year (Year 7 - 9) - Male
  • Lilly Geddes - Senior School Sports Person of the Year (Year 10 - 11) - Female
  • Hunter Bellamy - Senior School Sports Person of the Year (Year 10 - 11) - Male 
  • Keira Williams - Year 12 School Sports Person of the Year - Female 
  • Matthew Krammer - Year 12 School Sports Person of the Year - Male 
  • Hugo Alderman - Olympic Change Maker Award
  • Madison Parkes - Olympic Change Maker Award


  • Girls U15 Football - Secondary Sports Team of the Year
  • Paul Kelly Cup AFL boys - Primary Sports Team of the Year
  • Open boys football, Open girls football, 15 girls football, Open girls netball, 15 girls netball, 15 girls touch football, 15 boys touch football - NCIS BDC Secondary premiers award

Coaches and Officials

  • Ben Jokinen - Community Coach or Manager of the Year (student, parent or community member) 
  • Mark Norberry - Staff Coaching Spirit Award or Manager of the Year (spirit award)
  • Hunter Bellamy - Sports Official of the Year (Umpire, Referee or Administrator)

Academies and High Performance

  • Xavier Poole - Football academy male most improved
  • Charlie Wood - Football academy male coaches award
  • Isobel Murphy - Football academy female most improved
  • Piper Alderman - Football academy female coaches award
  • Armaan Azad - Golf academy male most improved
  • Arlo Bennett - Golf academy male coaches award
  • Shayla Newcombe - Golf academy female most improved
  • Ava Lindsay - Golf academy female coaches award
  • Scarlett Laing - Netball academy 7/8 most improved 
  • Tully Flynn - Netball academy 7/8 coaches award
  • Evie Martin - Netball academy 9/10 most improved 
  • Madison Parkes - Netball academy 9/10 coaches award
  • Daniel Williams - High Performance Program Achievement Award